Recent Vintage-y Finds

retrovelvetI wanted to share a few recent finds from my thrift store crawls.  This top, love this top!  Dress it up, dress it down… Black velveteen with a wide, square neck that’s slightly cowled and wide straps that taper from the neck down to the sides.  Combined with a bright, cheerful head scarf and I’m ready to start my day today.  The top cost about $3.00, the scarf I already had.  (Speaking of 50′s style scarves: did you know you could easily sew your own head scarves?  Here’s a link to a super-easy tutorial that will have you sewing dozens of these iconic vintage-y accessories.)

retroshoes1retroshoes2Aren’t these the cutest shoes?  I could wear the purple ones as easily with a Steampunk outfit as with a 40′s house frock.  They’re Liz Claiborne, patent leather and full grain suede with a grosgrain ribbon tie.  They have a 2.5 inch heel and don’t have much wear on the bottom at all.  I paid $10 for them, which was a lot at a thrift store, but these are worth it. The black ones I happened to find at Sears, of all places!  They will work great with a Steampunk outfit and I’m probably going to wear them with the current corset vest I’m making.  I wear these alot right now though!  They look cute with jeans and just really fit my personality.  Plus, they’re comfy!  Manmade, vinyl and fabric.  Leather lace tie and side zipper.  I spent $20 on these.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pam Miller
    Feb 12, 2014 @ 19:18:40

    Wow you lucked out! Maybe I should go thrifting with you sometime. :) hugs

    Reply

    • Charlene Therien
      Feb 13, 2014 @ 07:42:13

      Absolutely, Pam! It’s huge fun, it’s not expensive– the most costly thing is lunch between thrift stores. There’s 7 decent thrift stores that I visit regularly, and hitting them all can take a full day…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

