The Quintessential Christie

“I’m reading again,” I said.

“Oh dear.  I know who it is.”

“You do?” I feigned surprise.  We both knew that she knew, but we played our little game.

“Yes, you’ve got that Agatha What’s-her-name out, haven’t you.”

I chuckled.  Tempted to lie, I almost denied it.  But it was no use.  She knew I was rather fond of the woman, and I could tell by the twinkle in her eye that she didn’t mind in the least, in spite of her mild implication to the contrary.

“You must admit, Agatha Christie does have a way with words.  A tilt of the head can mean so much.  And it is all so genteel, even though she had the audacity to call you “Nemesis”.”   It was a pointed reminder to Aunt Jane.  She had been rather feisty in the Caribbean.

“Oh, pish-posh.  I just happened to meet someone that reminded me of someone else back in St. Mary Mead.”

“And who happened to commit murder.”

The knitting needles in her hands never skipped a beat as they click-clacked against one another with the precision of a metronome.  “Well of course, dear.  People are people, after all.”

I’m re-reading “Agatha Christie:  Five Miss Marple Novels” for the second time.  Jane Marple knits and flutters her way through these stories, having a keen eye for observation and a sharp mind for solving murder.  Her technique is an unusual one, consisting in part of connecting people involved in the investigation to those she has known before, in the small English town of St. Mary Mead, where she has lived her whole life.

Geraldine McEwan brings Jane Marple to life on the silver screen.  In “Agatha Christie’s Marple, Series 2 & 3“, McEwan twitters her way through the lives of those who would commit the most heinous of crimes, seemingly mild as a lamb, but in reality the most cunning of adversaries.

To my delight, we can watch Geraldine McEwan in Agatha Christie’s “Nemesis” on YouTube, in ten parts.  Now that I’ve found it there, I’m going to watch it now, while I make Memorial Beads.

Leave a Reply

