Sewing Book Bo-Nan-Za!

new sewing books

Oooh.  Looky, looky! Allen and I were running errands this past weekend, and he wanted to stop at one of our favorite (and most dangerous!) places:  The Book Nook.  It’s the best used book store in the tri-county area.  It’s sortof a distant child, in a way… we’ve fondly watched it grow from a tiny store squished between a consignment shop and a Jazzercise, to it’s current location a few buildings down the road, which is the size of a Blockbuster Video.  Hmmm.  In fact, I think that building used to be a Blockbuster Video.

When we entered the store, we both headed different directions:  he to the science fiction section, and me to the craft section.  I had $50 burning a hole in my pocket, and it started jumping up and down as soon as it realized where we were.  It wanted to get spent for a worthy cause, and what worthier cause than used books?  (Okay, yes, I know there are much worthier causes out there.  Don’t hate my money because it’s a bibliophile.)

I had picked 8 books, but could only afford 5… sad face.  So I sat on the floor and carefully went through each book.  The litmus test of them had to do with sewing pants.  If they didn’t talk about sewing pants, they were going to get ruthlessly placed back on the shelf and I would ignore their piteous pleas.  These five in the picture made the cut.  I’m reading the one in front.  I’m not a particularly avid fan of Nancy, but her book is a compilation of hints and tips mostly from her viewers.  Sweeeeet.

Coming up: My next post is going to be about whatever happens tonight.  Remember I talked about sewing with my daughter and oldest daughter-in-law in my post, Sewing Projects?   Well we’ve been talking to some of the girls in our Sunday night small group.  I think we’ll be having four or five of them join us for sewing and beading adventures tonight.  It should be fun!  I’m going to have to go out and buy some more tissue paper for tracing patterns, sometime today.  I’ve got a bunch of patterns that range in size from 8 to 24, and if they want to use one, I have them trace their own patterns so that they don’t cut the other sizes off of the multi-pattern sheets.  Plus, that way we can mark their alterations when we pin fit the pattern, and they can keep it to use again for another garment.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa Clarke
    Oct 10, 2010 @ 10:56:01

    My book store experience is much the same – me, off to the craft section, itching to spend a little $$, and my husband off to the sci fi section 🙂

    Reply

  2. Cat
    Oct 11, 2010 @ 06:43:08

    Best part is: LOL we get the benefit of both book sections!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

