Before And After

I love seeing makeovers.  Don’t you?  I’ve had a bit of a makeover in my appearance lately, and the most recent change has been to get a new pair of glasses.  The change isn’t entirely cosmetic — I did know that I needed bifocals, and had just been putting it off.  But it got to the point where I couldn’t read without taking my glasses off. 

So here’s a couple of before and after pictures so that you can see the difference in my glasses.  You won’t see the line on the bifocals, as I got the progressive ones (and I love them).

The picture on the left was taken in 2009, not long after my husband gave me a haircut.  The photo on the right was taken today.  In the last year, I’ve made a number of changes: wearing makeup daily, coloring my hair auburn instead of strawberry blonde, and pulling it up into a french twist with sideswept bangs.

Edit, 2014: I think I was going too severe, as I look back. I needed to change my image, yes; but I also needed to not look so old. I learned that because I have a square face with a very prominent jawline, that I need hair fullness at the sides of my face, and my hairline longer than my jawline. I’ve since grown my hair out, decided to not fight the natural wave in my hair, and to return to my natural medium brown haircolor. I think it’s much more youthful than the french twist hairstyle, don’t you? 75940_10152631227200337_1714734485377162549_n

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Liz
    Nov 06, 2010 @ 20:06:30

    it’s so fun that we girls can mess around with stuff like this, isn’t it? 🙂

    Reply

  2. Cat
    Nov 06, 2010 @ 20:14:17

    It is, it is! I just started watching “What Not To Wear”, a tv show that takes real people and gives them fashion makeovers. Not just thin people, either, which surprised me. The show wasn’t afraid to tackle tough wardrobe issues like being overweight. Their premise is that changing how you look on the outside can positively affect how you feel on the inside, and to a certain extent, I think they are right. Self-image is a powerful thing– whether it be overly negative or overly positive. So keeping it in perspective is critical!

    Reply

  3. Liz
    Nov 10, 2010 @ 21:12:02

    oh, no need to tell me about that show–I LOVE IT! 🙂 and you’re right–it’s nice that they do all body types/ages/occupations… and it’s fun to cringe imagining yourself being the one raked over the coals! “How many pairs of sweat pants do you have??? Into the trash can!!” 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

