Retro Earrings

A couple of Saturdays ago, I attended my local polymer clay guild’s Class/Clay Day.   Pam’s class was on doing image transfers, a technique I hadn’t used in oh, probably a year or so.  The night before the class, I was wondering what I was going to make.  Margo had been asking me for some black and white earrings that she could wear at work, and I thought of using a circular retro pattern for them.  I figured I’d do a trial pair for myself, to see if they would come out good enough to make a pair for her.  These green ones are the trial pair; I absolutely loved them!  I wear them pretty often.

I made them using water-slide transfer paper and printing my images directly onto the paper with my laser printer.  It’s a very simple technique and I love the combination of the rounded retro shapes and the triangular teardrop.   The ones on the left have silver foil underneath the transfer.  I found that I liked the un-foiled ones better, as they tended to show the image more crisply.

Of course I also had to do some in orange and copper!  But just like with the silver foiled ones, the copper foiled ones were’nt as attractive as the ones done on a white clay background.  But I wear them both quite a bit, depending on the shade of orange I’m wearing in my shirt.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pam
    Jan 30, 2011 @ 12:40:59

    ohhh they are all great but I must say I do like the copper foiled ones alot.
    great job!

    Reply

  2. Cat
    Jan 30, 2011 @ 12:57:12

    Thanks, Pam! Hey by the way, I’m working on something special for the CIPCG right now… let ya know when I’m done!

    Reply

  3. ShelleyM
    Mar 03, 2011 @ 02:35:06

    Absolutely gorgeous. Specially like the green ones. What did you use over the top as a sealer – love the slightly domed look to them too.

    Reply

    • Charlene
      Mar 03, 2011 @ 06:13:40

      Hi Shelley! I remember you – It’s been years since we’ve said hello. How are you?

      Thanks for the compliments, and I like the green ones too. I used a UV nail gel over the top to seal the transfer in. And I formed the clay bases over a big christmas tree bulb.

      Reply

  4. smamabird
    Nov 14, 2014 @ 10:25:35

    I really like the green ones going to give them a try

    Reply

Leave a Reply

