Thundersnows And Colored Pens

I would imagine you’ve never heard of a “thundersnow” before.  It’s an actual meteorological term, I didn’t make it up.  A thundersnow is where you get just what you’d imagine you’d get by the name: lightning, thunder, and snow instead of rain.  In the last week, there have been numerous reports of thundersnows along the East Coast, according to ABC News.

Last night, Margo and I were coloring at the kitchen table when I saw a bright flash from the livingroom.  I thought William was taking flash photos, and I called toward the room to ask what he was doing.  Before he could answer, a violent crack exploded overhead, rolling into one of the longest periods of continuous thunder I’ve ever heard.  The lightning must have been really close, because the living room drapes were closed, and yet the lightning lit up the room.  Wow.

This was the view from my kitchen bay window, yesterday afternoon about one o’clock.  We had approximately six inches of snow and it was still coming down heavily.  Within an hour, businesses all over town were closing.

Central Illinois just doesn’t get this much snow in one storm; usual accumulation is one to three inches.  But combining the amount of snow with wind gusts of forty miles per hour,  and we had white-out blizzard conditions.  Local hospitals were calling their people in, and putting them up in motels.

Thanks to a gift from Staedtler, Margo and I had an enjoyable few hours last night.  I’d printed off some free coloring designs from the internet, and we used my new pens to color them.  Margo did the retro design and I did the Celtic one.  It’s been probably ten years since I sat and colored a picture; I used to color a lot when the kids were younger and I’d forgotten how very relaxing it can be.

Looks like we ended up with about 14 inches of snow.  Many businesses are closed, including the ones our family members work at.  There were numerous phone calls back and forth, making sure all the employees knew they had a day off work today.  Margo is still stranded here for a bit, until the highway gets cleared close to where she lives.  She and Will had a bit of fun in the snow before they started helping their dad to shovel…

 

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathi
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 11:14:51

    hehehe I heard you laughing!

    Reply

  2. Cat
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 11:26:39

    LOL! Yeah when that poof of snow from Will’s landing hit Margo right in the face — it just cracked me up. 😀

    Reply

  3. Yvonne
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 14:17:53

    Dear Charlene,

    So nice to hear you had a jolly good time colouring.

    BTW, your Sutton Slice pics are amazing – such wonderful details!! I’m really curious and looking forward to seeing your finished jewellery 🙂

    Kind regards, Yvonne

    Reply

Leave a Reply

