Three Sisters

I need another internet shop like I need another hole in my head.

But, as some of you lready know, it’s about exposure.  The more places your work can be seen, the more places people have opportunity to find you. Okay, I can dig that.

Yesterday I saw a post in one of my LinkedIn groups about a fairly new online site for artists to sell their work, called Three Sisters Marketplace.  Two things caught my attention about this place:

A, there is only a commission on sold items, and if an artist sells nothing, then they pay nothing.  The commission rate is pretty decent: 15%.  I could do a lot worse with a local gift shop, where not only would I pay a higher commission, but I’d also be subject to theft.

B, the shops are juried.  That means the artist must pass a certain set of standards before they can have their shop accepted.  (Their site doesn’t say what the standards are, but as I looked through the other shops, I could tell that halfway decent photography was one of the standards).  I spent about an hour or so last night getting my jury examples together, and was pleased this morning to see that I’d been accepted.

Some irony here:

Last night, as I’m setting up these listings and thinking to myself, “why are you doing this, when you’ve been paying for an empty Artfire shop for three months?”  Good way to guilt myself, but maybe it’s the kick in the butt I need to take the time and get Artfire set up.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Alisa R.
    Feb 09, 2011 @ 10:26:07

    I ruled out all the new venues on the scene because of their monthly fees. My work needs a new direction, and maybe this would be good. So glad I saw your post (on facebook). Best wishes!

    Reply

    • Charlene
      Feb 09, 2011 @ 10:41:23

      I’m so glad you saw it too, Alisa. I hope Three Sisters is successful for both of us. (And if you sign up before February 14th, there are some extra promotional things they add in!)

      Reply

  2. Dawna Sharp
    Feb 09, 2011 @ 13:10:09

    Beautiful items you’ve listed in this shop. Congrats on being accepted. Was their any doubt you would be? Gosh you make top notch items! Let me know how well you do. I too have an Artfire shop that is still empty. So much stuff on that site. I’m afraid my shop won’t get noticed. Also so much that is being listed there is very poor in quality. I don’t want to start off on the wrong foot.

    Reply

    • Charlene
      Feb 16, 2011 @ 09:33:28

      Thanks, Dawna! I really appreciate the compliments. I hear ya about Artfire – I keep kicking myself to get it done, and just haven’t moved it up the priority list. Artfire is alot like Etsy, and it just takes diligence, lots and lots and lots of tagging items, etc. Let me know if you get your Artfire shop going, I’d like to see it. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

