Bonny Buttons!

Lisa Clarke of Polka Dot Cottage has started a new tutorial series on her blog, called BBC: Beginner Button Class.  I wanted to put a plug for the first installment in the series, because the instructions and photographs for this tutorial are EXCELLENT.  And I’m not saying that just because I think Lisa is cute and adorable and writes well, either.  (No, she didn’t pay me for this… she doesn’t even know I’m writing it.)

If you sew – or if you’ve ever lost a button and were frustrated with not being able to find a matching replacement – how about making some of your own?  Making your own buttons is fun, and can be really easy to get started.  They’re machine-washable and dryable (depending on what bits of this and that you include IN the buttons, and what finish techniques you use ON the buttons).  But you could always use button pins or make button covers, if you have any concern about washing your button beauties.

I’ve got a shirt that I took all the plain, white buttons off of it, and put some square kaleidoscope buttons on, instead.  Washed and dried hundreds of times and the buttons still look brand new.  So I know from personal experience that what Lisa’s going to teach you is GOOD STUFF.

– – – – – – – – – –

On a completely unrelated note… I’ve broken my web shops.  Again.  I was performing an upgrade and somewhere along the line it went all horribly wrong.  I’ve got a note off to Lyonshost – my absolutely fabulous web hosting team – whom I know will shake their heads and then go fix my mess.  These guys understand artists – and that makes a huge difference.  Let you know when things are back up and running.

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa Clarke
    Mar 05, 2011 @ 08:52:58

    *blush* 🙂 Thanks for spreading the word!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

