App Lust

Maybe lust is too strong of a word.  But I really, really want this app that Weight Watchers has for the IPhone, Blackberry, and other smartphones:  The Weight Watchers Points Plus Calculator.

I have a smartphone but it’s an older generation one: The Motorola Q.  I like it, though it’s more powerful than I really need.  Bummer that the phone is running a version of Windows (v. 6) that won’t run the app.  If I want to upgrade to Windows 7 (providing that my phone would run the upgraded OS) it would cost me $100.

So I went looking for a new phone.  And what I found out kinda made me mad.  In order to upgrade my phone (which I’m more than eligible for – I bought the phone in 2004!) I’d have to get a data plan.  I don’t need a data plan; I have a notebook computer that’s small enough to fit in my purse.  And the inexpensive data plans that we can get don’t apply to the newer smartphones, I found out, because the smartphones stay connected to the internet even if you aren’t using the internet.  Wha???

Alright, so this is turning into a minor rant, but there is a solution at the end of the tunnel – though it might make me wait.  Weight Watchers has a little handheld device that is a standalone electronic points calculator.  Cool.  It’s only $11.99, which is even cooler.  But they are out of stock – not only online, but also in the WW meetings, too.  I guess WW didn’t expect the demand for the upgraded devices to be so big.  Oh you can buy one on ebay or Amazon – but it’ll run you about $60 – $100.  Outrageous when you can buy it from WW for $12, as soon as they come back in stock.  But the law of supply and demand works both ways.  So I’m not too grumpy.

In the mean time, I’ve installed a WW points calculator in the sidebar of my main website.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. KT Did Clay
    Apr 01, 2011 @ 14:01:25

    Hi Cat. We awarded you the Versatile Blogger award. You are an amazing woman. You Rock! Hugs, Kelly and Tina.
    http://ktdidclay.wordpress.com/

    Reply

  2. Charlene
    Apr 01, 2011 @ 14:05:54

    ROFLMBO! Kelly, I burst out laughing when I read your comment. Thank you for the reward, you guys crack me up! Big hugs, –Cat

    Reply

  3. lmeyrs
    May 16, 2011 @ 22:30:04

    I am in a similar situation. I love weight watchers because it is realistic and something that u can stick to forever. However, I always get side tracked with adding up points, tracking, etc. The other day at work a co-worker showed me this Android App on her phone called Ultimate Points Calculator Plus. Although not affiliated or endorsed by Weight Watchers, it’s awesome, it does all the adding, subtracting, etc for you. I loved it. At least u have a SmartPhone. I don’t. So I started my search for a new smart phone. If I bought the phone just so that I could get this cool App, my phone bill would increase from a straight monthly amount of $45 to $80 plus taxes. My husband wasn’t feeling it. So now I’m in the process of searching for a computerized handheld/palm device that is similar to the App. I was about to order the device that I saw on Amazon. However, after reading your post, I decided to hold off. The weight watchers electronic points calculator for 11.99, does it only like add points or does it do similar things like the cool Applications that requires you to have a Smartphone. Look forward to your response.
    L. Myers

    Reply

    • Charlene
      May 17, 2011 @ 08:29:26

      I hear your frustration, L. I can’t see doubling my monthly cellphone bill just so I can get the neat Weight Watcher’s app. So that’s why I was so disappointed when my current phone didn’t have the ability to use the free app that Weight Watchers does endorse.

      So then I did order the little handheld Weight Watcher’s calculator from Weight Watcher’s Online (if you’re a meeting member, you have access to the E-Tools for free). I’ve been using the little Weight Watcher’s calculator for about a month now. It’s portable (about the size of the palm of your hand). It’s certainly easy to calculate protein/fiber/fat/carbs and get the Points Plus values for them. I use it when I go shopping, and when I go to restaurants (just ask them for a copy of their nutritional values list, if they don’t have that info listed in their menu). The calculator gives you options to save those points to your daily and weekly allowances, so that you keep up with where your points usage is. It has a handy regular calculator feature, too. Those are the things in it’s favor.

      Not so much in it’s favor are it’s limitations. Unlike some of the cool apps that will also allow you to track activity points, or check out recipes, or look up WW food values, the little handheld calculator doesn’t have any other features besides giving you your points and tracking your daily & weekly allowance. The buttons are small, about the size of cellphone text keys. So if you don’t have fingernails that are long enough to push the keys, you would want to use a pen or pencil to do that for you.

      All in all, though, for a flat $12 plus shipping, I think it was worth the investment when compared to the other options.

      Reply

  4. Trackback: Predicting Weight Loss « Fimo Fanatic: Charlene's Blog

Leave a Reply

