Meet My New Friend

Our son, Phil, is very outgoing and friendly.  One time when he was about 4 years old, he had been playing outside with his siblings and the other neighborhood kids, and he brought another little boy to meet me.  “Mom, this is my new best friend,” he said, a big grin on his face.  Then he turned to the other child and said, “What was your name again?”

We’ve told and retold this story as Phil grew up, became an adult, got married… because it really resonates with the essence of who Phil is.  He loves people and just really gets a charge out of meeting someone new.  Well, the apple doesn’t fall too far from the tree, as they say.  And while I don’t claim that new friends are instantly my new best friend, at the same time I share Phil’s enthusiasm in wanting to introduce someone cool to my other friends.

Melody Tallon is an Australian jewelry artist who works in mixed media, including polymer clay.  Her series of Bloom necklaces are beautiful, ethereal, and playful, all at the same time.  Love them!  But don’t just take my word for it.  You can visit Melody’s website, Artefacts, and her blog, All Chained Up, at the links.  I’d love to show you some pictures, but in respect for both copyright and bandwidth, I’ll let you go visit to see the beautiful things Melody makes.

I wanted to make mention of her blog post about being an artist.  I was impressed by the depth of thought and observation that went into what she wrote (and the editor in me likes her writing style).

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. myartefacts
    Apr 09, 2011 @ 20:23:43

    Charlene, you make me feel very humble. Thanks so much for your kind words about both my work and my latest blog piece – they are very much appreciated 🙂

    Reply

  2. Charlene
    Apr 11, 2011 @ 10:47:46

    You’re welcome, Melody!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

