Yes! First Weight Loss Goal!

I’ve reached the first of my goals to lose weight, and have lost ten pounds!  I started at the end of February, and have been using the Weight Watchers’ new Points Plus program.  With Points Plus, you can eat anything you like, as long as you use their calculation system to track the points of that food.  Based on your age, height, and current weight, you are given a certain number of daily points that will help you lose weight at an average 1-2 lbs per week.  You’re also given a ‘splurge allowance’ of an additional 49 points each week, to spend however you want.  Healthy eating is encouraged, as it allows more volume to your meals and lets you feel more satisfied.  Fruits and vegetables are mostly zero points, with very few exceptions.

Looking at my picture, you probably don’t know that I weigh 187 lbs.  I’m fortunate that extra weight is distributed fairly evenly through my body, and I’m quite tall for a woman – 5’8″.  But even with that advantage, I’m still 20 pounds heavier than I want to be.  I’m a third of the way there to my goal of 167 lbs, and if I keep going like I’m going, I should reach that goal by mid July.  Just in time for the Bristol Renaissance Faire!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. KT Did Clay
    Apr 12, 2011 @ 09:42:32

    You go girl! Looking good! Hugs! Kelly

    Reply

  2. Lisa Clarke
    Apr 23, 2011 @ 23:05:21

    Way to go! I need to lose roughly the same amount, and I’m having difficulty self-motivating. I’m considering WW, and am glad to hear it’s been working so well for you. Keep up the good work 🙂

    Reply

  3. Charlene
    Apr 27, 2011 @ 14:06:09

    Thanks, lovely Lisa!
    I’d be glad to help motivate you! Let me give kudos to the Weight Watchers Online site. It’s $17.99 per month, which is kinda pricey… but it makes keeping track of your points very easy and helps you with monitoring your progress. I also purchased their little Points Plus calculator for on the go points calculating (as long as you have access to nutritional info). There’s also that app I lusted about for smart phones.

    Weight Watchers isn’t just for meetings any more– it’s geared toward keeping people accountable while they are on the go in their busy lifestyles.

    Reply

  4. Kelly
    Jul 26, 2011 @ 10:53:44

    Love the blog! Congrats on the weight loss. We weigh almost the same right now (183) but I don’t have your height to pull it off hehe I’m shooting for 125-130. I’m gradually eliminating toxic-laden foods from my environment and learning to eat healthier. I’ll be posting the progress on my ‘livingthroughweightloss’ blog.

    Reply

  5. Charlene
    Aug 26, 2011 @ 13:04:57

    Hey Kels, how is your healthy eating going? I just tried to go to your blog and it didn’t want to open, so let me know if you’re still blogging about clearing toxins from your environment and eating healthier!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

