“It’s Probably Nothing…”

I’m waiting on a call from my doctor, to get the results of my recent mammogram.  And his nurse just said those words to me.  There’s a big part of me that nods my head and believes she’s right.  And there’s another part of me that goes through the What Ifs.

I have a friend who has survived breast cancer because she is diligent about doing her self-exams, and found a lump.  I have another friend who passed away a few years ago, because the cancer was aggressive and only minimally responded to treatment.  I can’t help myself thinking about those things.

I really only have two risk factors for breast cancer:  one is that I was on a high dose of hormone replacements, for ten years after my hysterectomy.  I was 30 years old.  I’d had Endometriosis and fibroid cysts on both ovaries.  After the hysterectomy, they left me one of the ovaries, but it is cystic and doesn’t always function – hence the HRT.

The second factor is the Fibrocystic Breast Condition (FBC).  It does make mammograms that much more dicey, because mutant cells can hide within the fibers and cysts that fill my breast tissue.  If you imagine feeling the outside of a padded bag of pea gravel, that’s what it’s like when I do self-exams, making it a bit more difficult to notice changes.

Now all that being said, my risk is probably still less than 5%.  (I keep telling myself that.)

So when I talked to the nurse a little bit ago, she was looking at the test results and said, “Um… I think I need to have the doctor call you.”

“Oh?” I said, trying to keep my voice level.  You know exactly where my brain went.

“Yea,” she said, “I can’t really read this thing, it’s all Greek to me.  It’s probably nothing, but I’ll print this out for the doctor to see, and he’ll call you this afternoon or this evening.”

I felt somewhat better about that.  If she couldn’t really understand what the Radiologist was talking about, then perhaps it truly IS nothing.  I went through a scare like this back in 2008.  It turned out to be a cyst in the end.  No worries.

Right??

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynnette
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 12:00:39

    Oh, Charlene, I’ll be praying for you — peace and comfort and strength. When I was diagnosed with endometrial cancer last week, I was strangely calm (at least the doctor thought so). She asked me what I was thinking, and I replied, “I’m thinking that what is, is, and what will be, will be. And I know that no matter what, my God loves me and HE is in control.” She was stunned. I’m facing the surgery tomorrow and still am resting in complete peace. I’m praying that for you right now, my sweet friend. Love you, Lynnette

    Reply

    • Charlene
      Aug 23, 2011 @ 12:02:51

      Ohmygoodness, Lynnette. I’m stunned! How long will you be in the hospital? Let me know which one, and I’ll come by and say hello…. You will be on my mind all day tomorrow!

      Reply

  2. Marlene Brady
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 14:36:52

    My prayers too. Hang in there!

    Reply

    • Charlene
      Aug 25, 2011 @ 06:54:00

      Thanks, Marlene! I’d said in my email that I was going to write another blog post, but it got too late. First thing this morning, though.

      Reply

  3. Lisa Clarke
    Aug 24, 2011 @ 07:22:42

    Thinking of you and hoping it is, indeed, nothing! Hard not to be scared, though, I am sure.

    Reply

    • Charlene
      Aug 25, 2011 @ 06:55:27

      A little bit, Lisa. But then probably wrong to put the cart before the horse. Hardest part was talking to my kids about it. Just FYI… don’t tell your oldest son in a text. He’ll tan your hide for it. *LOL*

      Reply

  4. Jackie
    Aug 25, 2011 @ 23:49:03

    Right! I’ve said prayers, just as an extra cover. 🙂 Big hugs, my friend. I went through all of this and had to wait 2 weeks for surgery years ago, it was tough, so I know what your worries are. I was a basket case, but it wasn’t malignant. Hopefully you’ll bypass the whole thing when you get the call back from the doctor. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Charlene
    Aug 26, 2011 @ 09:40:07

    Hiya Jack, sweetie! 🙂
    Thankfully, it did turn out that everything’s okay. I’ve got yet another fibroid (no surprise there) and a swollen mammary duct. Aside from that, which is so minor as to be almost insignificant, everything’s great. Huge relief!

    I’m so glad you took the time to leave a comment. Thanks bunches and bunches!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

