“It’s Probably Nothing” – Part 2

It’s Thursday, and I still don’t know exactly what was found on my mammogram.  I have spoken to nurses, and not yet gotten a call from my doctor, even though I’ve now left three messages for him to call me.   Each time I had a question about the test, the nurse didn’t know the answer and had to tell me she would call me back after she talked with the doctor.  Rather unsatisfactory, the way this is being handled on their end.

In the vaguest sense, they told me the mammogram had shown a “dense mass”.  But not the same one from 2008; they no longer have a concern about that one.  This one is bigger and it’s location concerns them.  I asked if this was more serious than their concern in ’08, and the answer was yes.

I’m pretty sure can feel it, if that is what they’re talking about.  I can’t find any other bump that’s as large in the same general location.  It’s about half an inch wide and 3/4 inch long, smooth-edged and shaped like a teardrop.  To my way of thinking, it just feels like a cyst or a fatty deposit.  But what do I know?  Really no clue either way.  They have me scheduled for a second mammogram and ultrasound at noon today; but I’m going to lobby for skipping the mammogram.  It seems redundant to do both.

More later today, if I’m able to know more.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shelley McLoughlin
    Aug 25, 2011 @ 10:58:09

    Thinking of you, and keeping fingers and toes crossed. Do keep us informed how things go. All the best.
    Shelley

    Reply

  2. Marlene Brady
    Aug 25, 2011 @ 11:43:48

    I’m wondering if the second mam is a diagnostic which is different from a routine mam. Anyway, positive thoughts and a prayer chain your way.

    Reply

  3. Sue Castle
    Aug 25, 2011 @ 12:13:41

    Thinking of you and sending healing prayers and thoughts. Hugs and smiles

    Reply

  4. Charlene
    Aug 25, 2011 @ 15:48:59

    Thank you, ladies, for your heartfelt well-wishes and your comments. I’m so glad you took the time to stop by, read, and leave a note. That means so much to me.

    Giant hugs!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

