“It’s Probably Nothing” – Part 3

Ohmygoodness!  Good news!  Thank you all so much for your prayers, thoughts, and especially for your encouraging comments.  I really do appreciate those.  More than you know.

The mammogram was indeed diagnostic, as Melody suggested.  What they saw on the first mammogram turned out to be a fibroid, which is benign.

I had a surprise though:  the spot that I thought was the spot – wasn’t!  You should have seen the look on my face.  We did an ultrasound on the lump I could feel, and it’s actually a swollen milk duct, a menopausal condition called Duct Ectasia.  There’s an explanation of that condition here.  I don’t have any external signs of it like nipple discharge or areola changes, just the swollen duct.  I’ll follow up on care for that but it’s nothing serious.

I felt mad and glad all at the same time, as I was leaving the hospital.  So churned up!  I was mad because I just spent $500 that didn’t actually need to be spent (yes, I know that’s not terribly logical; but at the moment I wasn’t thinking logically.)  I wished that the technology for diagnosing breast conditions was more advanced, so that women like me didn’t have to go through these scary emotional roller coasters for no real reason.  And I was sad for women who went through the scary roller coasters for months on end, only to have their fears confirmed.  I’m better now, after having my mini-meltdown in the car on the way to Subway.  My husband just patiently listened to me and didn’t say a word.  Bless his heart; he knows me well, and weathered out the storm like a trooper.

Most of my texts, emails, and phone calls are made (saving the long one – my mom – for when I’m in the car).  I’m headed to the library shortly, then my daughter’s and then a meeting for the youth group.  Just for a briefest moment, I have this sense of feeling very, very alive.  I know it’ll fade, but as relief washed over me, it seemed that the minutes slowed and the dust motes of life glittered in the sunlight.

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shelley McLoughlin
    Aug 25, 2011 @ 16:21:23

    I’m so relieved for you. Really really glad it’s worked out. Glad I kept my fingers and toes crossed for you!

    Shelley

    Reply

  2. Colline
    Aug 25, 2011 @ 16:37:14

    What a relief that it was nothing serious. Even though you had to spend the money, at least now you know. Wish, though, that these tests were more affordable so that others could experience the same relief and sense of knowing.

    Reply

    • Charlene
      Aug 25, 2011 @ 21:07:54

      Hi Colline! I agree wholeheartedly about wishing the tests were more affordable. I know we seriously debated whether or not to do it. And in the end we chose to give up repairing our kitchen floor so that I could have the tests done. That was a tough decision to make, and for awhile there it was neck and neck as to which way it would go. The thing that tipped the scale was when I said, “If it wasn’t for the money, I’d have no problem getting the tests done.” That was all my husband needed to hear.

      Reply

  3. Marlene Brady
    Aug 25, 2011 @ 18:18:08

    I could cry for you. So happy. Ahhhh, back to trying to stay in the moment and deep breathing. Celebrate you.

    Reply

    • Charlene
      Aug 25, 2011 @ 21:02:02

      LOL Marlene, no tears, even joyful ones. They’ll get in your clay and cause it to develop moisture bubbles.
      Just kidding! 😀
      Taking a big, deep breath with your name on it. 🙂

      Reply

  4. Lisa Clarke
    Aug 25, 2011 @ 18:21:47

    Hooray! So glad you came outthe other side of that roller coaster with positive news!!

    Reply

    • Charlene
      Aug 25, 2011 @ 21:03:17

      Thanks, Lisa! I appreciate you taking the time out of your crazy life to comment and share the event with me. I’m humbled by your presence here. 🙂

      Reply

      • Lisa Clarke
        Aug 27, 2011 @ 09:07:32

        Bah! My life isn’t *that* crazy! Plenty of time for checking in on favorite blogs. Now, doing the dishes? That is something I don’t have much time for 🙂

  5. Elsie Smith
    Aug 25, 2011 @ 21:32:21

    Yippeeeee, yahooo, yay!! Great news Charlene.
    I hope I get the same news when I go back for my 2nd mammogram & ultrasound tomorrow. (Here in Canada all mammograms and follow ups are free). Our health care system covers those costs.

    Reply

  6. Rochelle
    Aug 25, 2011 @ 21:51:26

    I am so glad I found your blog. Peg had told me about your tests. God really blesses.Rochelle

    Reply

    • Charlene
      Aug 26, 2011 @ 09:38:00

      Hi Rochelle! Hey, I’m glad you found my blog, too. Welcome, welcome!
      Oh, I’m glad Peg told you about the tests, and I agree – God does bless. Although I have to say… I’m in the middle of reading Job, and sometimes it’s easy to think that just because God loves us and wants the best for us, that it automatically means our lives will be worry-free and successful. I know that’s a common thread among some Christian groups.

      UH oh. I’m monologuing! Let me save the rest of what I was going to say for another blog post. So thanks again, Rochelle!

      Reply

  7. myartefacts
    Aug 25, 2011 @ 23:58:28

    Ahhh, that’s so good to hear. So pleased for you. I keep forgetting to book my mammogram, so I should get to it.

    Reply

    • Charlene
      Aug 26, 2011 @ 09:29:12

      Well, I know a certain woman (not me!) who has a steel-toed boot whenever I need one. I could pass along her name… you might already know her, she’s a clay artist. Kathi from Dragonsglass!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

