Memorial Rings

Time to post some recent work!

These are sterling silver rings with a Memorial Bead in the center.  I’m really excited about adding these to my keepsake line, because they provide a really subtle way to wear a reminder of a lost loved one.  The speckled stones in the ring are created with dried flowers and clay.

SHAPEWEAR POLL:  A reminder that the poll closes tomorrow.  If you haven’t voted yet, please do.  The votes are anonymous, and you can see the results of the poll any time.  I’ll be posting on Friday about Shapewear:  what it is, how to make best use of it, and what I personally have experience with.  (Before and after candid shots will be forthcoming.  Wow, talk about being transparent….)

ADAPTIVE PATTERN SEWING: I met with my friend last night and we talked about the custom pattern she had.  What she liked, what she didn’t.  When she told me the pattern was ten years old, that made me think we maybe needed to go with something different.  We talked about camouflage – how it’s difficult to find wheelchair-friendly garments that are intended to hide some areas and highlight others.   When it was all said and done, we decided it would be better to find a dress pattern with slimming princess seams, that was made for a woven fabric.  I took her measurements and then came home to look through my patterns.  I found a few things that I think she might like, and she’s coming over on Friday to make a decision.  I’m going to make a test garment out of some flannel (or some tightly woven plaid I have… the plaid would give me alignment benefits because of the pattern, similar to using a gingham).  If the test garment works, then we’ll do the real thing.  Plus, she’d have a sloper pattern to use for other garments!  Double the benefit, double the fun.  🙂

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marsha
    Aug 31, 2011 @ 11:03:52

    Cat, these rings are absolutely beautiful! Just stunning!
    I’ve been meaning to ask you something… how do you apply resin to your beads? I’ve tried ICE Resin and it turned out terrible. It might have been “operator error” but I would love to be able to seal my beads in resin so they retain their gloss. Thanks for any suggestions you may have.

    Reply

  2. Charlene
    Sep 01, 2011 @ 08:56:42

    Thanks, Marsha!
    How did you apply the Ice Resin? Did you use a small disposable brush (like the ones sold in craft stores)? Did you let the resin sit for a little bit so the viscosity would thicken? Have you tried Lisa Pavelka’s MagicGlos? You’d probably want a UV lamp to go with it, because I think sunlight takes too long to harden the resin.
    Hope this helps!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

