The Acai Berry Craze

Have you seen this article?  Someone sent me the link via Twitter this week, and I went to read the article.  There’s also this video in the sidebar:

Okay, let’s get real, now.  Didn’t the news article look more like an advertisement than a real person testimonial?  I’m doubting the news anchor’s claims, for a couple of reasons:  first, health experts have long claimed that losing more than a few pounds per week isn’t very healthy for you.  It can be done, but at what cost?  Secondly, there’s this article from a trusted source, webmd.com.

What do YOU think?  Have you tried any of the Acai Berry products?  Juices, supplements, etc?  Have they worked for you?  Met any of your expectations?  Or have they just been a big waste of money?

Alright.  In the interest of scientific experimentation, I’m gonna follow a similar plan as the one the news anchor did.  I’m gonna get an Acai Berry supplement and add it to my daily vitamin intake (regular all-purpose vitamin, extra vitamin C for my immune system, and extra D3 for my joints).  Adding an Acai Berry supplement to that, I’ll try it for 30 days to see what happens.  Of course I’ll be posting my results here on my blog.  But to be honest, I’m skeptical, especially after reading that WebMD article.  I’m thinking it isn’t gonna be making *that much* of a difference in my weight loss plan.  On the other hand, it is a good-for-you supplement, and it can’t hurt to increase my antioxidant intake.

I did run across some helpful advice in what to look for when buying an Acai Berry product.  Granted, this lady is selling her own stuff.  But she does make some decent points about what to look for, and what to avoid, when getting Acai Berry products.

This search of Wal-Mart.com showed me a wide variety of Acai Berry products.  14 items came up.  So I limited my results to those with 4-5 star rating by consumers.  That left me with 5 products.  Since the Helpful Advice Lady recommended 1,000 mg of Acai a day, these supplements sounded like the best way to get it.  I also was very intrigued by reading the comments in the nutrition information section.

Alright!  So off to Wal-Mart I go.  (Well, actually it will be in a few hours, as I have work to finish first.)  I’ll start my Acai scientific (lol) trials tomorrow.

Update, first week taking Acai Berry

I’m feeling great.  Like, Tony The Tiger grrrrreat!  The thing is… I don’t know how much of that which can be attributed directly to the Acai Berry capsules I’m taking.  Because a number of things started about the same time:  going back to Curves and working out 5 days a week, taking my vitamins regularly instead of hit and miss, and taking Acai Berry.  I don’t know that I’ve shed any pounds, but I know that some fat has moved around, because a jersey knit skirt I wouldn’t be caught dead wearing in public now fits pretty darn good.  So something is happening.

Update, subsequent weeks taking Acai Berry

It’s November 5, and I’ve been taking the Acai Berry for a little over a month.   The good changes from last month are still here, although I haven’t had any more dramatic changes to my weight or measurements.  In fact, in the few weeks since my last weigh and measure session, I had lost a cumulative 1 inch, and half a pound.  So things are actually moving a bit slower.  But that’s often the case with weight loss – some people have a dramatic loss at first, and then it tapers off or even plateaus for a bit, then the loss becomes slow but steady.

I still wonder whether any of this can be attributed to taking the Acai, so when the bottle is empty, I’ll stop taking it for a while and see if I notice any changes.  Of course I’ll update here and let you know how things go, sans Acai.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trina
    Sep 19, 2011 @ 14:58:36

    The best product is Monavie juice which is sold by independent agents. My daughter loves it and did that for awhile but it is tres expensive that way. They are supposed to have the best extraction process. Didn’t do much for me and we have some capsules that are supposed to be for weight loss but no deal there either.

    Reply

    • Charlene
      Sep 19, 2011 @ 15:06:00

      Right, that’s the same stuff as the video shows, Mon aVie. At $37 a bottle, ouch! But you’d pay that for a decent wine. So really, not that bad all things considered. (Not that I regularly buy $37 bottles of wine. But you know what I mean.)

      See, I want to jump on your last sentence and point at it, going “Aha! Proof!” It does make me even more skeptical, reading what you’ve shared. Thanks for taking the time to weigh in on this, Trina! (Well, figuratively of course. Erm, I mean… metaphorically I guess. Oooh, that was just awkward, heehee. 🙂 )

      Reply

  2. bluedamselflyjewelry
    Sep 24, 2011 @ 22:29:16

    I hope it helps you but remember ww and exercise are the two safest ways to do it. I am hoping you get results you are happy with!

    Reply

    • Charlene
      Sep 30, 2011 @ 11:07:32

      *shrug* I don’t know if it’s going to be helpful for anything other than immune boosting, Julie. But that itself has value. So I’m going to continue with the experiment anyway. I totally agree about WW and exercise being the way to go. And even if I don’t lose a single pound, I’m feeling a whole lot better now that I’m exercising every day. I needed that endorphin boost in the mornings!

      Reply

  3. Trackback: Heather’s Light Box « Fimo Fanatic: Charlene's Blog
  4. Kelly
    Sep 29, 2011 @ 13:17:01

    I’ll be watching your progress, Cat. I’ve just tried to stick with changing how I eat in a way I can do for the long term. I didn’t lose as much weight the last 8 weeks as I’d hoped but I learned some things about what I truly enjoy to eat and what I think is ‘acceptable fare’. And I am at my lowest weight in 10 years so I’m happy with that. Stay away from processed foods! They are evil 🙂

    Reply

    • Charlene
      Sep 30, 2011 @ 11:04:21

      That’s some good advice, Kelly, about learning the difference between what you truly enjoy and what you find merely acceptable. I think when we change what we eat to a healthier menu, we all too often just eat what’s acceptable – maybe because of cost factors, or because we don’t know how to cook healthier meals, or because our taste buds have become accustomed to too much salt, too much fat, and too much sugar. Learning what we like in the list of healthy foods is a process worth the investment though.

      Reply

  5. Trina
    Sep 29, 2011 @ 18:29:56

    What I need to do is stop snacking!! Someone had homemade apricot bars at work this morning. Did I pass? HA. I did park far away at the mall later and walked a bit.
    Maybe I will go back to the Acai capsules. We had a ton left over.

    Reply

    • Charlene
      Sep 30, 2011 @ 11:00:19

      Well, Trina – if you do go back to the Acai will you let me know how it goes? Because I’m not so sure that what I’m experiencing (or more accurately, how much of it) can be directly attributed to the Acai. I’m expecting that the Curves workouts have overall increased my endorphin production, and so that could be a large contributor. So could the addition of the vitamins. *Shrug* I’m not willing to give any of those things up so that I can really give accurate results of the Acai. Hmmmm, then again… the Helpful Lady said 1,000 mg. But the bottle recommends 2,000. I could go that route, doubling the Acai, and see if I notice any changes at all. Might do that after my 4 week trial is up.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

