Fantastic Low Carb Brownies

miracle browniesI had been telling my youngest daughter-in-law that I was gonna make these Miracle Brownies from Laura Dolson’s Low Carb Diets section on About.com.  I just hadn’t taken the time to do it.  Well, work was slow, I was cleaning the kitchen, and I decided it was time to give this recipe a go. They really are very good!

I only had half the butter the recipe called for, so I substituted homemade coconut butter for the other half, which gives a slight German Chocolate Cake flavor and texture to the batch of brownies.  I also chose to follow one comment Laura made, and that was if you wanted the brownies less sweet, to use half the artificial sweetener at the end.

Mine came out very cake like with a slight chewyness from the coconut butter.  I thought they needed to be a little sweeter, so next time I’ll make them with the full amount of sweetener, and I’d like to try them with full butter, and only cook them until they’re just set so that they are a bit soft and gooey inside.  Flavor wise, they are very much brownie like and when you need something sweet but you don’t want to compromise your diet, they are a fantastic option.

Nutritional value, per 2″x 2″ square: Each of 32 brownies has 1 gram effective carbohydrate, plus 3 grams of fiber, 3 grams of protein, 10 grams of fat, and 107 calories.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thedivamaria
    Jan 24, 2014 @ 19:12:57

    I saw this when you posted it on Facebook and forgot to save so THANK YOU for sharing it here!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

