My Fitness Pal

myfitnesspal1This.  You Need This.

If there’s one absolutely, positively critical tool in helping you lose weight, it’s tracking what you eat.  Study after study has shown that when people who are trying to reduce their overall caloric intake use a food diary to track what goes into their mouth, they eat less.  Fact.

myfitnesspal2Here’s a recent food log from My Fitness Pal.  I’ve been using it for a little over a year, and I’ve seen great results from it.  My oldest daughter-in-law, Heather, was talking to me at a restaurant and showing me the My Fitness Pal app on her phone.  We had been talking about my weight loss progress and how I was using a little notebook to jot down my food (ala Weight Watchers from the olden days).  Honestly, I was resistant to want to learn a new program.  But I could see the merits of what she was describing.  My Fitness Pal is a free app you can get for Iphone and Android, and it synchronizes with the online version to keep your food diary up to date with your meals and snacks.

myfitnesspal3You can create and save recipes, meals, and calculate nutritional information for recipes that you find online or in a cookbook.  You can also use the barcode reader in the app to just scan the barcode of what you’re eating, and the program automatically inputs the nutritional information into your food diary.  Click and done.  No typing.  Gotta freaking love that part!

myfitnesspal4You can get the free app by going to your phone’s app store.  Get it.  Get it now.

Leave a Reply

