Out Of Milk

outofmilk1Have you ever gone grocery shopping only to realize you forgot your list?  Or bought an extra container of cinnamon because you forgot you already had one? Or have you come home from running errands and forgot something important you needed to do? Out of Milk is a truly terrific organizer program that you can use both online and on your phone that will help you keep track of your shopping needs and your pantry’s inventory, and manage your to-do list items.

outofmilk2Here’s a screen shot of one of my lists.  I’ve been using Out Of Milk for years, even before it was a cellphone app and it was just an online program.  Out Of Milk is an organizational tool with 4 main functions:  Shopping lists, To-Do lists, Pantry Inventory lists, and Local Grocery Deals.  You can create as many lists within each category as you want.  I personally have the following lists:

In the Shopping Lists I have:  Business Items, Home/Family Shopping List, and New Year’s Eve

In the To Do Lists I have: Song List, To-Do List, and Work List

In the Pantry Lists I have: Chest Freezer, Essentials, and Spice Rack

outofmilk3You can get the free smartphone app for Iphone or Android, and there is a paid upgrade option that has some extended features– but really the free version is so powerful that you won’t miss much.  I use it every day.  When I’m cooking, the app is open so that when I go into the pantry or fridge and realize I’m nearly out of something, I can quickly jot it down in my list.  When I’m shopping I open my list and when I’ve bought an item, I click a box and that item moves down the list into my “grocery cart”.

— Standard Features —

★ Multiple shopping & to-do lists
★ Sync and share your shopping lists with others in real-time
★ Get notified of grocery deals while in a store (US only)
★ Access your lists online from anywhere on http://www.outofmilk.com/
★ Save time by grouping items into categories
★ Scan or manually enter items in your shopping lists
★ Plan grocery list
★ Shopping list history remembers items
★ Pantry lists let you inventory anything so you always know what’s in your pantry
★ Share lists by text or email
★ Move or copy items between shopping list and pantry lists
★ Displays grand total and running total on your shopping list
★ View price history while editing a shopping list item
★ Mark items in your shopping list as tax-free. Out of Milk will also remember your choice for future reference
★ Browse and search local grocery deals, sales and promotions

I guarantee if you give this app a try, you’ll love it.  No longer will you search for a scrap of paper that you jotted down a needed grocery item.  You’ll always have your list with you, can add to it or delete an item anytime you want, and you won’t need to search for something to write with to add to the list stuck to your fridge.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gaylet8
    Jan 24, 2014 @ 18:40:22

    I’ve used Out of Milk for about 6 months now and LOVE it! Another app I found that is helpful is Keyring. You enter all of those pesky key tags into your smartphone and get them off your keyring!

    Reply

  2. Charlene
    Jan 24, 2014 @ 18:42:44

    Keyring — what an awesome idea! Thanks for the suggestion, Gayle! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

