Bubbles & Dots

polymercafe july-aug 2014I’ve been writing occasionally for the print magazine PolymerCAFE’ since 2003.  Last summer a friend who writes the artist interviews for the magazine, Trina Williams, asked me if I’d do an interview with her.  Initially I said no; I’d kind of taken a step back from the limelight and I wasn’t ready to return to it.  But earlier this year I felt I was ready to return, and among other pursuits I contacted her and asked if she still wanted an interview, which she did.

bubbles-&-dots-earringsThe magazine editor also asked me if I’d contribute another tutorial, something that would go along with the interview.  Part of the interview was about Fimo Nail Art, which I started making in 2006.  So I wanted to create a beginner-friendly tutorial that would be an alternative way to use the canes.

caneset4I used the Bubbles & Dots cane series to create the earrings, because it’s a really versatile set that can be used in a wide range of projects.  Sliced paper thin, these canes can decorate a wide range of items.

Here’s a video I made a few years back on how to slice these canes.  Because the clay is baked and not “raw” or soft, there is a slightly different technique used in slicing them.

You can find the PolymerCAFE’ magazine at these stores:  JoAnn Fabrics & Crafts, Michaels’ Arts & Crafts, and Barnes & Noble Booksellers.  You can also order the issue directly from the publisher at polymercafe.com.  You can find the blue Bubbles & Dots cane set (as well as other colors and designs) in my online store:  cattherien.etsy.com.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Debbie Eldridge
    Nov 02, 2014 @ 23:27:01

    I loved this technique. I would not have thought of doing that with cured canes. Thanks!

    Reply

    • Charlene Therien
      Nov 03, 2014 @ 08:46:48

      Thanks, Debbie! Cured cane slices are pretty fun to work with. The article I wrote for PolymerCAFE was in hopes of introducing newer clayers to the idea of using their canes both uncured as well as cured.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

